Happy New Year!

HNY2016

Candy Candy, Igarashi Yumiko, Nakayoshi 1979

Yes. It’s the new year, and I’m alive. Not doing well though as I’m still recovering from a severe case of cold, very very slowly I might add that I’ve not returned to work since the holiday. When I thought I would have a relaxing time enjoying the festive season, the cold bugs hit me hard. No kidding. It was awful. Hence the long period of absence. And I was planning to update too since I had some free time. Alas, the cold derailed my perfect plan. Oh well… 😦

Do not fret. I’ll be back with updates. I assure you.

Although it might take a while before that happens. I need to catch up on work and other RL stuff that will limit the time I can spend on leisure writing.

Of course,Β there are otherΒ things I could do to keep the blog alive, simple things that require minimal amount of writing. And I intend to do just that. So expect to see new posts soon, including a surprised, exciting post that I can’t wait to publish.

For now, that is all. I won’t elaborate more. You just have to find out for yourself πŸ˜€

Before I sign off, I want to wish you all a belated Merry Christmas & Happy New Year.

May 2016 bring you abundant blessings, fresh hope, and bountiful joy.

We might not know what is going to happen this year, but one thing is for sure–God is in control. So don’t worry. Enjoy life to the fullest. Explore the world. Expand your horizon. Express yourself.

❀

PS – for those who registered for Reverie accounts these last few weeks, I’m sorry for making you wait. I will activate your accounts shortly. Thank you for registering, and I truly appreciate your patience. If you don’t receive the activation notification by EOW, please message me.

9 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Hello Beautiful Illusion!
    Let this New Year be the one, where all your dreams come true, so with a joyful heart, put a start to this year anew. Wishing you and all your family and friends a happy and prosperous New Year. πŸ’–πŸŽ‡πŸŽ†πŸŽŠπŸŽ‰πŸ˜†
    And I hope you will recovery completely very soon! πŸ˜€
    Hugs and kisses πŸ’—

    • Mercy beaucoup. Feeling much better now and ready to take on the world. LOL. That last part is of course an exaggeration. 😁
      I hope you had a wonderful time celebrating with your loved ones.
      Hugs and kisses 😘

  2. I don’t know why but I couldn’t leave a reply for your post “Unbiased CCFS translation. Could such a thing exist?” so, I leave my comment here:
    An unbiased translation! Oh! What an amazing thing! Many thanks for sharing these great news with us I will encourage him with no doubts, and sharing on my own blog by quoting you too if you don’t mind? Perhaps I can translate his text in French for my no English speaker readers when I have some spare time. Even If I’m not very enthusiastic with some parts of CCFS because I prefer the manga, it will be very interesting to read his version. Thank you, thank you, thank you!!! πŸ’“πŸ‘
    Have a great weekend! 😍

    • Eh? Is that right? Hmm… πŸ€”I’ll take a look.
      You’re very welcome. And no I don’t mind a bit – please share and spread the word. And translating it further to English is a fantastic idea, but be sure to ask for his permission first.
      You think? Yes, it’ll be very interesting to read the story from a man’s perspective. Men usually stick to facts than to perceived notions. So yeah… I can’t wait.

    • Nice to meet you, Mr. “unbiased” CCFS translator ☺️

      I just noticed that the comment for that particular post was disabled for whatever reason. What I did for the post was directly sharing your post and adding my thoughts to it, so “reblogging” could be the issue? I never had this problem before with my other posts. Well, in any case, I fixed the problem. And now anyone can comment.

      Once again, I’m absolutely thrilled that you decided to pick CCFS as your side-project, a novel you’ve chosen to hone in your Japanese-to-English translation’s skill. You couldn’t have picked a better project πŸ˜‰

      It’s a great deal and true honor for us fans to have you, a near-pro, translate CCFS. Many of us have waited and wished and given up hope for CCFS to be translated to English. Now our wish has been granted. With you taking on the project, this is as close as it gets to the real thing.

      I myself is not a fan of CCFS–but that besides the point.

      I have no doubt in the quality of your work.

      As someone who has recently dabbled into the translation arena myself, I agree that translating from Japanese to English is not an easy task. Japanese is such a nuanced language, that not seldom the meaning of a sentence can shift completely just by the substitution of one word. And this could easily be further complicated by the omission of subjects and objects and the use of contractions. For non-native speakers like me, it can be quite tortuous to navigate through.

      So I must commend you on your efforts. And I do hope you would continue till the end. Though I understand it might take you a while.

      With regard to the unbiased aspect of your translation, I can sigh with relief now that I can say with absolute confidence that you’re not of those rabid fans πŸ˜€

      The various CCFS translations that have been circulating all over the net are almost exclusively done by fans of a certain group, except for the official translation by the Italian publisher. And yes I do think those fans translated versions are tainted by the translators’ own preferences and perceptions. In fact, the same problem can be found with the manga translations. Not too long ago, I discovered numerous mistakes in the unofficial English translation many English-speaking fans have regarded as the official version. This inevitably had caused confusions among fans. I wasn’t aware of this until one of my readers brought it up to my attention and I compared the translation to the original tankoubon version. What I also found interesting is that these mistakes are simple mistakes that shouldn’t have happened in the first place. But the fact that it did made me question how it could actually happen, and I began to doubt the integrity, whether the mistakes were unintentionally committed or not. Later I found out that the English translation was done based on the Spanish translation (official), not the original Japanese text. I have no qualms if these mistakes were innocuous in nature and had no impact on the story or on how we could interpret the story. However, this isn’t the case with Candy Candy, and as true fan, I found this rather disconcerting.

      Yet you, sir, have given us fans the opportunity to enjoy the story in its purest form. We’re truly grateful for that.

  3. OMG! I’m so unforgiven for missing in action for quite long time. I won’t give excuses πŸ™‚ , but yeah, when the holiday season started to come around, I was just too excited with all real life stuff and although I don’t want to admit it, for that brief moment I had no interest to go online and getting lost in CC world. But, here I am now. Trying to catch up with all blog’s posts and fan fictions updates.

    And look, I’m also kinda rude.

    Happy New Year, my dear Beautiful Illusion! I wish you nothing but the best in this year of 2016. May you be blessed with abundant health, wealth, and love from your loved ones. And may you always be as creative and talented as you’ve always been.

    So, I guess I have an advantage of being late in responding, since now I know what you meant by exciting post. AND YES! It excites me, too. Like, really. God, I should click that link to Mr Unbiased CCFS Translator, shouldn’t I? But,but .. but I know once I start reading it, I can’t stop. And now is not really good timing for me as it’s been pretty late here.

    For now, I think I can only say THX .. a lot, to you for sharing his work, and also for Mr Unbiased translator himself. THANKS. Though, honestly, I’m very nervous to see where his work will lead us to. Of course I have a firm belief to who Anohito is, but still … it’s like revealing the truth of CCFS. LOL.

    I’ll be back soon. Meanwhile, you, Beautiful Illusion, please don’t hesitate to talk with me about all these offline. πŸ™‚

    See ya!

    • Hello there Reeka. It’s good to see you. No worries. I totally understand what you’re saying. Until recently I myself haven’t been actively updating the blog. The hustle and bustle of the holiday combined with work that never stopped coming even during the break, and being sick have all contributed to my extended absence. So I don’t think you missed anything important.

      Thank you for the well wishes and kind words<3
      Let's hope this year would be the best one we have yet.

      Well, all credit goes to Mr. unbiased translator, aka Mr. locksleyu. I'm only the messenger πŸ˜€

      But yeah… Isn't that such an exciting news for the new year? I have full confidence that he'll do an excellent job translating CCFS, and this time we don't need to worry about its integrity. As for anohito… LOL. Even if he has formed his own opinion of who is anohito, I doubt he'd share that with us openly. He surely don't want to ruffle some feathers.

      Oh by the way, you were wrong about one thing. The post about CCFS isn't the exciting post I mentioned earlier, not at all. So you just have to be patient for a little longer for the actual exciting post πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

