Update & Random Post of the Week: Dr. Seuss Has Spoken. Candy is in love with Albert ;)

Dr. Seuss???

No. Really.

The wise doctor apparently knows a thing or two about love, not just about the “Green Eggs and Ham” and “The Cat in the Hat”.

See according to him… (taken from source)

EH?!!!

When have we seen Candy struggling to fall asleep?

Hmm…. Let’s see.

From the manga, there’s this…

CC-manga-v09_p092i

And then these…

Exhibit 1 – Excerpt of Candy’s letter from CC Novel (translated by me)

“Oh Albert… It’s great to be alive! It doesn’t look like I will be able to sleep tonight. I wonder what kind of exciting thing will happen tomorrow. When the door is knocked, I’ll open it, and you’ll be there standing.”

Exhibit 2 – Excerpt of Candy’s letter to Albert from CCFS (taken from source)

“I wonder under which sky you are travelling now.
I never thought you would be so busy as the head of the Ardray family. I very much appreciate your having come all the way to the Pony’s home despite your busy schedule
preparing for a new business now.
And, and…
I feel as if I am still dreaming.
Prince on the Hill was …
Little did I know it’s Albert-san —.
It means … Granduncle William was the Prince on the Hill!
Oh, I’m still quivering with surprise and sensation.
After you revealed such a secret, soon came Georges to pick you up, and again, you vanished in a blink of an eye from the Pony’s Hill —.
Maybe that’s why it seems like a dream all the more.
I feel like I’m floating.
I have never forgotten about the Prince on the Hill.
I don’t think I will be able to sleep tonight.

Exhibit 3 – Excerpt of Candy’s letter to Albert from CCFS (taken from source)

“Now, I have the diary you gave me back by my side.
I never opened, though.
I’m going to leave it to the care of you again.
Just like you presented me your badge again which I once returned to you.
How cruel and beautiful is the passage of time.
I have no idea what will happen in the world in the days ahead.
But I can believe that all sweet memories will stay in my heart. And because of them, I will be able to get through any difficulties.
I am — very grateful to my parents who have abandoned me at the Pony’s Home.
Thanks to that, I could meet you!
It is me who can never thank you enough.
Yes, Albert-san,
Herein lies my happiness; in now.
Ah, I don’t think I will be able to sleep tonight again.
But, I wish little Bert dream the most fantastic dream.”

The evidences are clear. Candy is having trouble sleeping, and that’s because of a certain man.

Therefore, according to Dr. Seuss, Candy is positively, unambiguously, beyond any doubt in love with that man, Albert. Case closed.

It’s just as the wise doctor said, “Sometimes the questions are complicated and the answers are simple.”

Yep, the answer is that simple.

You might not believe me and my (occasionally) twisted way of thinking, but Dr. Seuss, a.k.a Theodor Seuss Geisel? You must believe the doctor adored by many.

😀

Hello everyone–

Happy weekend!

I finally have time to sit down and finish writing a quick (update) post that I began early in the week. And yes, I’m aware I still owe some of you replies for your comments–I’ll get to those very very soon. And that’s a promise.

When Monday came, I didn’t expect this week would turn into a super hectic one. It started rather calm and easy with a holiday here in the US. Labor Day. A day where I could relax and spend time with the family. But once that was over, it was truly over. No kidding. It felt like I’d been slapped awake by reality. The last few months post my hiatus had been relatively quiet, that I’d fallen into the doldrums of summer. But now… things have changed by 180 degree. It has been a whirlwind of activity that hasn’t stopped whirling. Oh well… c’est la vie!

Anyway… I came across the above quote a few days ago, and I couldn’t help but smile when my thought flew straight to our favorite blond couple. Such a perfect quote for Candy, don’t you think? 😀

A short (quirky) post like this will be something I’ll publish at least once a week. This is my attempt to keep the site updated in a more regular manner as well as a way to  help (force) me to continue writing.

Moving on to another topic, I want to inform you that I created a Translation Page. Some of you might’ve noticed this already. From the name, you can tell that this is the place for all my translations, and that is in fact what it is. However, in addition to the translations you might’ve seen in my old posts, you’ll find other materials. And I plan to continue adding more.

What are those other materials? Well, they could be anything, from manga scenes to excerpts from novels and magazines, and they’re not going to be limited to Candy Candy only.

As I mentioned in this post, I found translating could be both challenging and fun, and I want to continue doing it. I thought of scanlating one of Igarashi’s series, but I soon realized that was a bit too ambitious. Instead I decided to start with something smaller, something more attainable. And what could be a better project than the final chapter of the old Candy Candy Novel, “The Correspondence of Candy and Albert”? I know some of you would prefer reading that anyway compared to any other series. 😉

I hope you enjoy this ‘new’ addition, and let me know if you have any specific translation request.

Oh… one last thing, the pages are password protected for security reasons.

Leave a Reply

